Before posting, please read: When to use this forum, when to submit a help ticket

Sending midi Notes to SLM to trigger Midi Presets mid-song

Started by drumm1n, November 16, 2013, 09:36:01 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

drumm1n

Hi Arlo.  I have a question about using SLM's Remote Control feature to trigger other midi devices. I've already searched the tutorials but couldn't find my answer there.
http://www.arlomedia.com/apps/setlistmaker/tutorials/remote_control.html

My Setup: SLM controlling 3 external midi devices: Roland V-drums; Roland SPD pad; VoiceLive Play GTX Vocal Processor.

What I want to do: Use the SPD pad to trigger SLM to then send out midi PC messages to other midi devices. Example: hit SPD pad 3, sends Note 108; SLM receives 108 and that triggers SLM to send a user defined PC message to the other midi devices (including the SPD device).

Restriction: my SPD can only send Note Messages and nothing else. But as a drummer, I can't be poking at the screen to send midi messages mid-song. Heck, I can't even reliably use a stomp box to trigger messages (I've tried but in too many songs I need my feet on the hi-hat and bass drum. Plus it wreaks havoc on the rhythm!).

What I know: SLM can receive a Note Message from my SPD, but the actions seem to be limited to: Previous/Next Screen/Page/Song/Document, Show/Hide Document/Notes, Start/Stop Recordings/temp/AutoScroll, Pitch, Volume Up/Down, Midi 1/2/3/4/5 Send. That's all useful, but I need to trigger Midi Preset 'X' (which would then define a PC message to whatever devices I wanted). Can this be done? Or could this be added?

What exactly is Midi 1/2/3/4/5 Send and could this be used for my purpose?