Before posting, please read: When to use this forum, when to submit a help ticket

Other MIDI apps on the same iPad

Started by micklepickle, October 11, 2016, 12:02:53 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

micklepickle

I'm exploring the feasibility of using Setlist Maker and Luminair on the same iPad. Can they communicate via MIDI within the iPad software (no cables)?

Here is what I'm trying to do:
I am a musician and soundguy at the same time, and would like to also control lighting while performing. I currently use SetList Maker to send MIDI commands to my Soundcraft Expression mixer. When I select a new song on SetList Maker, it automatically sends a MIDI command to the mixer to set the vocal effects (reverb/delay) for that song. It works great - highly recommended.

Now I want to do the same with lights. I would like to use SetList Maker to send a MIDI command to something like Luminair (which I haven't bought yet) to select a "scene" for that song. Within that scene (during the song), I'd like to have the option to use a MIDI footswitch to change lighting for different parts of the song.

Has anyone done this? Any recommendations for how to proceed?
Thanks much,
Mike

arlo

Yes, generally speaking, multiple apps running on the same iPad can send MIDI to each other. I don't know what capabilities Luminair has in particular.

Ruckman65

I am using Luminair with SetList Maker for our on stage lighting. We have a small rig of four led parcans but it works beautifully. I use two iPads on stage. The first iPad has the midi commands on it and the song titles. When I press the song name, it sends the midi preset to Luminair which triggers the programmed lighting scene and the song on the second iPad. The iPads and Luminair run wirelessly into my Apple Express. The Apple Express is connected to a DMXKing interface. It is a fantastic setup and would easily work with a larger lighting rig. Happy to give you any other info I have, if you want. 

micklepickle