Before posting, please read: When to use this forum, when to submit a help ticket

Author Topic: Export, Import  (Read 1590 times)

lonetech

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 39
  • Karma: +0/-0
Export, Import
« on: November 08, 2017, 06:38:30 PM »
Since I upgraded, I have been able to export and import databases between my two Samsung Galaxy tab A 9.7 tablets. Today I received an 8"  one, and I installed Setlist maker. When I exported  my databases and then attempted to import them into the new unit, an error message appeared saying that "this doesn't appear to be a valid data file"". What is wrong  here? I tried many times , emailing and exporting, with the same results
Thanks in advance.

lonetech

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 39
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Export, Import
« Reply #1 on: November 09, 2017, 08:01:19 PM »
I read somewhere where the databases were screen size specific, so i even loaded default layouts, and that didn't help. Help...!!

arlo

  • Administrator
  • Senior Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3948
  • Karma: +92/-3
Re: Export, Import
« Reply #2 on: November 09, 2017, 08:18:29 PM »
Do you have the current app version on all the devices? I think this problem might be due to a difference in app versions on your different devices.

If that's not it, please submit a help ticket and attach your exported file to the ticket:

https://helpdesk.arlomedia.com/arlomedia

lonetech

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 39
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Export, Import
« Reply #3 on: November 10, 2017, 06:14:46 AM »
Woo, hoo...!! You were right, Arlo. It never occured to me that the app version was causing the problem. The new tablet had, of course, the latest version. Thank you, thank you...!!!

lonetech

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 39
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Export, Import
« Reply #4 on: February 03, 2018, 02:29:54 PM »
Another question. How can I export a database for storage in a backup folder and retrieve it later, when it is likely there will be another update, and my tablet won't accept it because it was saved from an earlier version? My partner's tablet lost part of his database for some reason, and I had exported mine about a month earlier. There had been an update since then and it wouldn't accept my saved database.

arlo

  • Administrator
  • Senior Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3948
  • Karma: +92/-3
Re: Export, Import
« Reply #5 on: February 05, 2018, 08:58:28 AM »
It's not likely the export format will change. It has only changed once and that was shortly after the new feature was introduced and it was easy to update the old files to use them. If it changes more substantially in the future, I'll make the import function backwards compatible.

lonetech

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 39
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Export, Import
« Reply #6 on: May 19, 2019, 05:57:16 PM »
Arlo, I just updated all of my tablets and now I can't import  the databases. I know you once told me there was something to do with .txt extensions that i had to change somehow. Could you explain that again?

arlo

  • Administrator
  • Senior Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3948
  • Karma: +92/-3
Re: Export, Import
« Reply #7 on: May 19, 2019, 06:34:38 PM »
What happens when you try it?

lonetech

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 39
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Export, Import
« Reply #8 on: May 19, 2019, 06:57:04 PM »
When I export via email or Bluetooth and try to import on the other device, the files are greyed out.

lonetech

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 39
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Export, Import
« Reply #9 on: May 19, 2019, 07:00:10 PM »
I also emailed to my partner who has the same version I do and he has the same issue.

arlo

  • Administrator
  • Senior Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3948
  • Karma: +92/-3
Re: Export, Import
« Reply #10 on: May 19, 2019, 08:37:14 PM »
Can you post a screen shot? If you don't want to post it publicly, please submit a help ticket.

lonetech

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 39
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Export, Import
« Reply #11 on: May 20, 2019, 11:55:39 AM »
I finally noticed the file manager folder on the import screen, which wasn't there on previous versions. I opened it, and there were my databases. It is working now. Thanks.

arlo

  • Administrator
  • Senior Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3948
  • Karma: +92/-3
Re: Export, Import
« Reply #12 on: May 20, 2019, 04:05:03 PM »
Great.