Before posting, please read: When to use this forum, when to submit a help ticket

Author Topic: BH and Luminaire MIDI configuration  (Read 4477 times)

chonk

  • Regular Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 12
  • Karma: +0/-0
BH and Luminaire MIDI configuration
« on: December 10, 2018, 07:59:12 PM »
Okay so I thought I understood MIDI.
I have been trying to figure out how to get BH to trigger a scene in Luminaire when I select a song in a set list. I think my issue is all configuration issues as I don’t see any info being set in the BH log when I select the song. Help me.

I apologize in advance for the screen grabs, but it’s easier for me to explain.

1: I’ve configure luminaires to select BH (photo 1)
2: Luminaire docs save 43 is the command for next scene (photo 2)
3: I’ve configure Luminaire as a MIDI device in BH (photo 3)
4: I’ve created a MIDI preset called “Next scene” (photo 4)
5: I atttached that preset to a song (photo 5)
6: When I go into set list mode and select the song nothing happens in Luminaire.when I check the log in BH it doesn’t show it sent any data (photo 6)

Any insight/help will be greatly appreciated

chonk

  • Regular Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 12
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: BH and Luminaire MIDI configuration
« Reply #1 on: December 10, 2018, 08:00:07 PM »
I should also mention I’m using Luminaire 3
I’m also attaching the 3 MIDI pages from the Luminaire manual for reference

Ruckman65

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 188
  • Karma: +3/-2
Re: BH and Luminaire MIDI configuration
« Reply #2 on: December 11, 2018, 02:39:13 AM »
Hello Chonk. Welcome to the forum.

Firstly, my Luminair is set up to run under sACN rather than Art-Net though this may not make any difference to your setup. In Luminair, the Midi Interface is set to Multiple. Once again, I am not sure if this will make any difference to your setup. You need to ensure that the lighting profiles you have entered into Luminair are exactly right. I had created some lighting profiles for 400 lighting scenes. They worked fine for a while but then Luminair spat the dummy and none of the scenes worked. I had to recreate the lighting profiles precisely as any error could cause them to fail again. I then had to recreate the 400+ scenes! So, just make sure your lighting profiles are 100% accurate.

In BH, I have set up midi devices on separate channels which allows me to run 256 scenes under each channel. Each of the channels is set to Network Session 1. For example, midi device one is called Luminair C1, set to Network Session 1 on Channel 1. The numbering is set to 0-127. In BH midi preset, there are entries for Program Changes and for Control Changes. Enter your numbers in the Program Changes field. This should also show the names of your midi devices. For example, in Luminair C1 (my first midi device) I have entered the number 10 in the third column, being the Program field.  You will see Bank MSB    Bank LSB     Program.

I set midi learn in Luminair then click on the appropriate scene. A red dialog box opens. Back to BH midi presets. Tap on the midi icon next to the name of your midi preset. Go back to Luminair and, if it all goes to plan, the dialog box should be green and show the designated details.

Try that and see how you go.

chonk

  • Regular Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 12
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: BH and Luminaire MIDI configuration
« Reply #3 on: December 11, 2018, 05:33:32 PM »
Making headway!
Thank you.

I’ve got BH MIDI presets changing Luminaire scenes when I select the preset in BH MIDI preset page.

However, now when I assign that preset to a song and select it in set list mode, it’s not sending any data to Luminaire.

I’m close.

chonk

  • Regular Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 12
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: BH and Luminaire MIDI configuration
« Reply #4 on: December 11, 2018, 05:37:14 PM »
Never mind. I figured it out.
I didn’t have send midi turned on in my layout.

All is good in the world right now :)

Thanks again