Before posting, please read: When to use this forum, when to submit a help ticket

Author Topic: Chord format converter  (Read 274 times)

JerryK

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 88
  • Karma: +3/-0
Chord format converter
« on: December 16, 2018, 04:33:18 PM »
In case it helps anyone to convert from 'chords-over' format to 'chords-inline' format, I found this
http://ukegeeks.com/tools/
Apologies if this has been posted before.

JerryK

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 88
  • Karma: +3/-0
Re: Chord format converter
« Reply #1 on: May 22, 2019, 11:08:48 AM »
Arlo has built this function into the app now.  I have not tried it yet but it is probably more convenient, at least, than the external web-based system above.
Well done Arlo

arlo

  • Administrator
  • Senior Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3870
  • Karma: +91/-3
Re: Chord format converter
« Reply #2 on: May 22, 2019, 03:59:38 PM »
Thanks!

pingber

  • Regular Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 16
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Chord format converter
« Reply #3 on: June 04, 2019, 06:38:30 AM »
I can’t seem to get this feature working correctly (yet).

JerryK

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 88
  • Karma: +3/-0
Re: Chord format converter
« Reply #4 on: June 07, 2019, 02:43:25 AM »
I find that I have to do a little ground-work before it works neatly but after that, it does work pretty well.
I copy lyrics with chords-over from some source, usually from my Ultimate Guitar account.  This does not paste at all well directly into BH (e.g. all the [Return]s are missing) but it needs some editing anyway.  So I open Notepad and paste it there - the [Return]s work as expected here.
Verse, Chorus etc indicators are usually in square brackets and I want them in round brackets, so I do 2 global find/replace for that.  Then I check that the chords line up with the start of the words or syllables, throughout the song.  There are usually some out of place, sometimes many.  For a split word (syllable), I add a hyphen and align the chord with the right-side of that -  my preference.
For a solo section I leave a blank line, as if there were lyrics, but fill it with spaces to the length of the line of chords above. This seems to work best.
Copy everything, paste into BH.  If there are any square brackets left, the first use of "[C]" will remove them.  Second use will move chords into lyrics.  You can then remove any blank lines and do any other prettying-up.  E.g. I like (verse) and (chorus) etc to be Gray, so they are very clearly performance information, not part of the song, along with hints like (STOP) etc.  It helps me.
It works well.

arlo

  • Administrator
  • Senior Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3870
  • Karma: +91/-3
Re: Chord format converter
« Reply #5 on: June 07, 2019, 09:44:45 AM »
Thanks for adding these tips. Losing line breaks when pasting shouldn't happen, but can be hard to troubleshoot ... please open a help ticket if you want to do that. Adding a line full of spaces after a line of just chords also shouldn't be necessary ... you could try skipping that step and see if it still works.