Before posting, please read: When to use this forum, when to submit a help ticket

Miscellaneous Interface Issues

Started by shibetpc, March 06, 2019, 01:11:34 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

shibetpc

Quote from: Neill00 on March 05, 2019, 03:10:01 PM
To start with, it blows my mind that musicians that have a chance to use this app, after someone else has done all the heavy lifting, would just give up on it. 

Ha! Sisyphus didn't have as much heavy lifting.... :)

I've been struggling with this for some time now.  I am not a novice user.  I'm technically adept, been around this stuff for most of my life, have worked in the industry.   I utilize this type of technology in every aspect of my life.  I am an early adopter of many technologies, and am not afraid to spend many hours working toward understanding tech that may be a benefit to me (I've clocked a ridiculous amount on this one). 

That being said, I am continually stymied by BandHelper.  This will be the 3rd season I've attempted to transition over to BandHelper from any number of other song management apps, and already its looking as if this attempt will fail.  Each time it becomes more and more difficult to convince others that the app will work...myself included. It will fail because it is a nightmare to use in a live and realistic environment, and is unintuitive in every aspect.  It goes against all the expectations that users have when using an app, and responds differently depending on the device it is deployed on.   NOTHING about the layouts and navigation are intuitive. Even custom layouts are unintuitive because of the constraints they put on a user.

Here are some examples: