Before posting, please read: When to use this forum, when to submit a help ticket

Author Topic: MIDI program change not operating on DTX M12  (Read 1931 times)

Rich13

  • Regular Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: +0/-0
MIDI program change not operating on DTX M12
« on: July 13, 2021, 02:36:19 AM »
Hi everyone,
I'm using SLM to send Program Change messages like this: SLM on iPad, out from iPad via camera connection kit, into USB midi input on DTX M12 (midi switched to USB), then midi out socket from DTX M12 to midi in socket on 2Box Drumit 3 module.
Program changes sent on song selection, DTX M12 channel 10, 2Box channel 2. Midi traffic sending from SLM, 2Box changes program perfectly, DTX M12 doesn't do anything, even though the midi signal is going through the DTX to get to the 2Box.
Data also flows to and from DTX from DTX Touch app.
Any thoughts?

arlo

  • Administrator
  • Senior Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4675
  • Karma: +108/-3
Re: MIDI program change not operating on DTX M12
« Reply #1 on: July 13, 2021, 03:20:36 AM »
Does the DTX respond to MIDI messages if you disconnect the 2Box?

Is the DTX set to respond on the same channel you've configured Set List Maker to send on?

Rich13

  • Regular Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: MIDI program change not operating on DTX M12
« Reply #2 on: July 13, 2021, 08:43:24 AM »
Hi Arlo, DTX is on same midi Ch 10 as SLM, DTX fails to respond whether 2Box is connected or not

arlo

  • Administrator
  • Senior Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4675
  • Karma: +108/-3
Re: MIDI program change not operating on DTX M12
« Reply #3 on: July 13, 2021, 04:13:37 PM »
After sending MIDI to the DTX, you can click the MIDI icon in the top toolbar and look at the activity log to verify what was sent, then make sure that matches what the DTX needs to receive to trigger the desired action. I can translate the MIDI code from the activity log if needed.

Rich13

  • Regular Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: MIDI program change not operating on DTX M12
« Reply #4 on: July 14, 2021, 02:36:16 AM »
Thanks Arlo, here's the screenshots:

arlo

  • Administrator
  • Senior Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4675
  • Karma: +108/-3
Re: MIDI program change not operating on DTX M12
« Reply #5 on: July 14, 2021, 09:03:32 AM »
This shows you sending simple program changes on channel 10 with no accompanying bank change. Is that what the DTX needs?

It also shows you receiving hundreds of MIDI beat clock messages, which could be interfering. Can you turn that off from whatever device is sending it?

Rich13

  • Regular Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: MIDI program change not operating on DTX M12
« Reply #6 on: July 14, 2021, 09:32:34 AM »
I've switched off midi clock sending, program changes still not working on the DTX. Bank MSB = 125, bank LSB = 1, then kit number (1 etc).

arlo

  • Administrator
  • Senior Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4675
  • Karma: +108/-3
Re: MIDI program change not operating on DTX M12
« Reply #7 on: July 14, 2021, 10:49:38 AM »
Can you copy and paste the output of the activity log after sending that MIDI data?
« Last Edit: July 14, 2021, 10:50:21 AM by arlo »

Rich13

  • Regular Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: MIDI program change not operating on DTX M12
« Reply #8 on: July 14, 2021, 12:17:58 PM »
Here’s the data, removed ports are where I tried a different iPad USB adapter:
sending data [C1, 60, B9, 00, 7C, B9, 20, 00, C9, 05] to all ports
- sending data [C1, 62, B9, 00, 7C, B9, 20, 00, C9, 04] to all ports
- sending data [C1, 60, B9, 00, 7C, B9, 20, 00, C9, 05] to all ports
- sending data [C1, 62, B9, 00, 7C, B9, 20, 00, C9, 04] to all ports
- sending data [C1, 60, B9, 00, 7C, B9, 20, 00, C9, 05] to all ports
- removed port YAMAHA DTX-MULTI 12 Port 1 for input
- removed port YAMAHA DTX-MULTI 12 Port 2 for input
- removed port YAMAHA DTX-MULTI 12 Port 3 for input
- removed port YAMAHA DTX-MULTI 12 Port 1 for output
- removed port YAMAHA DTX-MULTI 12 Port 2 for output
- removed port YAMAHA DTX-MULTI 12 Port 3 for output
- added port YAMAHA DTX-MULTI 12 Port 1 for input
- added port YAMAHA DTX-MULTI 12 Port 2 for input
- added port YAMAHA DTX-MULTI 12 Port 3 for input
- added port YAMAHA DTX-MULTI 12 Port 1 for output
- added port YAMAHA DTX-MULTI 12 Port 2 for output
- added port YAMAHA DTX-MULTI 12 Port 3 for output
- sending data [C1, 62, B9, 00, 7C, B9, 20, 00, C9, 04] to all ports (11)
- sending data [C1, 60, B9, 00, 7C, B9, 20, 00, C9, 05] to all ports
- sending data [C1, 62, B9, 00, 7C, B9, 20, 00, C9, 04] to all ports (3)
- sending data [B9, 00, 7C, B9, 20, 00, C9, 03, C1, 62] to all ports
- sending data [C1, 62, B9, 00, 7C, B9, 20, 00, C9, 04] to all ports
- sending data [C1, 60, B9, 00, 7E, B9, 20, 00, C9, 05] to all ports
- sending data [C1, 62, B9, 00, 7C, B9, 20, 00, C9, 04] to all ports
- sending data [C1, 60, B9, 00, 7E, B9, 20, 00, C9, 05] to all ports
- sending data [C1, 62, B9, 00, 7C, B9, 20, 00, C9, 04] to all ports
- sending data [C1, 60, B9, 00, 7E, B9, 20, 00, C9, 05] to all ports
- sending data [C1, 62, B9, 00, 7C, B9, 20, 00, C9, 04] to all ports
- sending data [C1, 60, B9, 00, 7E, B9, 20, 00, C9, 05] to all ports
- sending data [C1, 62, B9, 00, 7C, B9, 20, 00, C9, 04] to all ports
- sending data [C1, 60, B9, 00, 7E, B9, 20, 00, C9, 05] to all ports
- sending data [C1, 62, B9, 00, 7C, B9, 20, 00, C9, 04] to all ports
- sending data [C1, 60, B9, 00, 7C, B9, 20, 00, C9, 05] to all ports
- sending data [C1, 62, B9, 00, 7C, B9, 20, 00, C9, 04] to all ports
- removed port YAMAHA DTX-MULTI 12 Port 1 for output
- removed port YAMAHA DTX-MULTI 12 Port 2 for output
- removed port YAMAHA DTX-MULTI 12 Port 3 for output
- removed port YAMAHA DTX-MULTI 12 Port 1 for input
- removed port YAMAHA DTX-MULTI 12 Port 2 for input
- removed port YAMAHA DTX-MULTI 12 Port 3 for input

arlo

  • Administrator
  • Senior Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4675
  • Karma: +108/-3
Re: MIDI program change not operating on DTX M12
« Reply #9 on: July 14, 2021, 05:35:59 PM »
My mistake, you are sending bank changes with the program change for the DTX. It's the other device on channel 2 that's only getting a simple program change.

Does this only work with bank MSB 125 and LSB 1? And does the DTX count those from 0 or from 1? Counting from 0 is more common, and if you count from 0 you're actually sending bank MSB 124 and LSB 0. You could increase those entries by 1 to see if that's the problem. Or if you set the MIDI Device numbering to 1-128 but the device actually uses 0-127 numbering, you can change that setting back to 0-127 and then the values you entered will result in the right values being sent.

Rich13

  • Regular Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: MIDI program change not operating on DTX M12
« Reply #10 on: July 15, 2021, 12:43:31 AM »
Thanks Arlo, I'll try this when I'm in the studio later👍

Rich13

  • Regular Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: MIDI program change not operating on DTX M12
« Reply #11 on: July 15, 2021, 02:13:09 AM »
Hi Arlo, got it working! As you suggested, I increased the values of MSB & LSB by +1 (125, 1, 6 changed to 126, 2, 6), all seems to work perfectly now. Thanks again for your help with this issue

arlo

  • Administrator
  • Senior Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4675
  • Karma: +108/-3
Re: MIDI program change not operating on DTX M12
« Reply #12 on: July 15, 2021, 10:02:11 AM »
Cool. If the DTX manual told you to use MSB 125 and LSB 1, it sounds like it is counting from 0 but you have your MIDI Device set to count from 1-128. So I would change that to 0-127 and then you can enter the same numbers on the MIDI preset pages that you see in the DTX manual.