Before posting, please read: When to use this forum, when to submit a help ticket

How to send bank change and mode change to Motif XF

Started by Keyman, January 19, 2024, 12:32:58 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Keyman

Hi,
I'm brand new to SLM. I want to use it as a soloist.
For solo work I use Yamaha Motif XF6. I program on an XF7 and I'm aware of the change needed when I migrate to the XF6. For now, I'm programming the XF7 with SLM.
I have read the tutorials but I'm not understanding or just missing points.
I have completed enough of the proper settings that a program change is successfully sent when I select a song title. For example, I have setup a MIDI preset that a selects program 33 (i.e. #34 😉)
What I also need is to be able to send a mode change (Performance mode to Master mode) And (in Performance mode) bank change e.g. USR Bank 1 to USR Bank 3.
I have tried entering Hex into the RawMidi field. I've tried the Midi Learn. I've tried the Control fields.
SLM (and BandHelper) seems to have the best documentation vs. the other apps in this space so am excited to use it.
Hopefully this has been solved before and there's an example file or hand holding step by step videos. 🤓
All the Best  — Newbie

arlo

I know that other users are sending mode changes from the Raw MIDI field, but I don't know what hex code you need to enter or what else you have to set up on the keyboard. If another user doesn't respond here, I would try some other forms that are focused on that keyboard. Meanwhile, if you post a screen shot of what you have entered, I can look for any obvious problems.

arlo

P.S. I think you would have to adjust Settings > Audio & MIDI > MIDI Options > MIDI Preset Order to send the raw MIDI before the program changes, and to insert a delay between them.

Keyman

Thank you for the speedy response!

Here is some information for the Motif XF I have found:

Modesw/Corresponding Command Strings

Voice:  F0 43 10 7F 12 0A 00 00 00 F7