Before posting, please read: When to use this forum, when to submit a help ticket

Author Topic: Automation Track - Help  (Read 3524 times)

fleahead

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 70
  • Karma: +0/-0
Automation Track - Help
« on: January 19, 2014, 07:13:44 AM »
Arlo... So I bought the automation track addon, but how do I use it and how does it work? I have found no explanation or instructions about it. The description sounds like it's something I have a use for. You are coming up with so many great features, you're going to have to write a users guide pretty soon.

by the way.... glad there are Charlie Poole fans still around!
Jim in Ohio

arlo

  • Administrator
  • Senior Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4309
  • Karma: +104/-3
Re: Automation Track - Help
« Reply #1 on: January 19, 2014, 09:08:29 AM »
Look at the Automation Tracks section on this page:

http://www.arlomedia.com/apps/setlistmaker/tutorials/using_on_stage.html

Charlie Poole, ha ha ... did you see that in one of the screen shots?

fleahead

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 70
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Automation Track - Help
« Reply #2 on: January 19, 2014, 12:58:52 PM »
Yep, but I have a lot of his stuff. Love it.
Jim in Ohio

fleahead

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 70
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Automation Track - Help
« Reply #3 on: January 19, 2014, 04:48:01 PM »
The only issue I'm finding, is when editing the times in the recorded track, it takes a long time to change the values if you have to go more than 10 seconds or so. Would there be any way to change the values using the standard Apple number wheel interface? Holding down the +/- icons is pretty slow, even after the rate increases.

Also, did I read somewhere on here that you are working on a new feature, that would allow recording playback volume settings per song?
Jim in Ohio

arlo

  • Administrator
  • Senior Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4309
  • Karma: +104/-3
Re: Automation Track - Help
« Reply #4 on: January 19, 2014, 06:07:07 PM »
Quote
The only issue I'm finding, is when editing the times in the recorded track, it takes a long time to change the values if you have to go more than 10 seconds or so. Would there be any way to change the values using the standard Apple number wheel interface? Holding down the +/- icons is pretty slow, even after the rate increases.

Good idea, I'll see what it would take to customize the scroll wheel to accommodate hundredths of seconds (which I think is necessary for some fine-tuning operations).

Quote
Also, did I read somewhere on here that you are working on a new feature, that would allow recording playback volume settings per song?

Yes, I just submitted that to Apple today: http://www.arlomedia.com/apps/setlistmaker/support/release_notes.html

fleahead

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 70
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Automation Track - Help
« Reply #5 on: January 20, 2014, 04:24:07 PM »
Arlo, is the auto scroll fix on the update you submitted today?
Jim in Ohio

arlo

  • Administrator
  • Senior Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4309
  • Karma: +104/-3
Re: Automation Track - Help
« Reply #6 on: January 20, 2014, 04:58:10 PM »
Yes!

arlo

  • Administrator
  • Senior Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4309
  • Karma: +104/-3
Re: Automation Track - Help
« Reply #7 on: January 02, 2015, 09:16:49 PM »
The only issue I'm finding, is when editing the times in the recorded track, it takes a long time to change the values if you have to go more than 10 seconds or so. Would there be any way to change the values using the standard Apple number wheel interface? Holding down the +/- icons is pretty slow, even after the rate increases.

In the upcoming version 4.1, you will be able to edit the time of an automation event in seconds or hundredths of a second. More info is here:

http://www.arlomedia.com/apps/setlistmaker/support/release_notes.html
http://forum.arlomedia.com/index.php/topic,848.0.html