Before posting, please read: When to use this forum, when to submit a help ticket

Author Topic: Eliminating blank lines with ChordPro  (Read 2854 times)

chuckpuckett

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 28
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • Bimini Road
Eliminating blank lines with ChordPro
« on: March 06, 2015, 01:34:11 PM »
Gonna ask this here first, since I don't know if this is "standard" ChordPro behavior, or an artifact of SLM.

I have a few songs that stay on the same chord for several lines. When I enter this in Lyrics window:

[E]Marie, Marie
Marie, Marie
Dit on Marie, je parle Marie
J’aim tu Marie
J’aim tu Marie


I get this in SLM:

E
Marie, Marie
Marie, Marie

Dit on Marie, je parle Marie

J’aim tu Marie

J’aim tu Marie


How do I collapse this and get rid of the extraneous lines? I didn't see anything in the ChordPro description (which is, after all, pretty simple) that led me to think this would happen, or providing formatting directives to prevent it. If this is a ChordPro issue, let me know.

Thanks!
Chuck Puckett
"I don't want to steal the show... I only want to borrow it for a while"
www.puckettpublishing.com
www.bimini-road.com

arlo

  • Administrator
  • Senior Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4103
  • Karma: +100/-3
Re: Eliminating blank lines with ChordPro
« Reply #1 on: March 06, 2015, 04:50:57 PM »
Since I implemented the ChordPro formatting with my own code (and I didn't implement the whole spec, just the chord placement with square brackets), then any problems are probably mine, too. I'll test with your example and see what results I get.

arlo

  • Administrator
  • Senior Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4103
  • Karma: +100/-3
Re: Eliminating blank lines with ChordPro
« Reply #2 on: March 16, 2015, 04:25:44 PM »
I just submitted app version 4.1.4, which should fix this:

http://www.arlomedia.com/apps/setlistmaker/support/release_notes.html

chuckpuckett

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 28
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • Bimini Road
Re: Eliminating blank lines with ChordPro
« Reply #3 on: March 16, 2015, 06:09:10 PM »
Hurray! That takes care of my 1 chord song :)
Whats the turnaround time on cert or whatever the process?
Chuck Puckett
"I don't want to steal the show... I only want to borrow it for a while"
www.puckettpublishing.com
www.bimini-road.com

arlo

  • Administrator
  • Senior Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4103
  • Karma: +100/-3
Re: Eliminating blank lines with ChordPro
« Reply #4 on: March 16, 2015, 08:51:43 PM »
The last few releases were approved in 6 days.

RDankert

  • Newbie
  • **
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Eliminating blank lines with ChordPro
« Reply #5 on: March 31, 2015, 04:40:15 AM »
Thanks for eleminate this problem. But, sorry, there is a new one:
If I definitly want a blank line in the lyrics window because off the structure in the songtext (vers A, vers B, refrain ...), it is not possible yet (???). But it is good to have blank lines in Lyrics, especially on the wanted position!
Sorry for my "german" english.

arlo

  • Administrator
  • Senior Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4103
  • Karma: +100/-3
Re: Eliminating blank lines with ChordPro
« Reply #6 on: March 31, 2015, 08:40:56 AM »
chuckpuckett also mentioned this new problem. I'll check into it and report back.

mspain

  • Newbie
  • **
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Eliminating blank lines with ChordPro
« Reply #7 on: April 05, 2015, 09:45:04 PM »
Arlo,

Yes please let us know about this one. Since the 4.1.4 update all blank lines are being stripped in any chord pro formatted lyrics. They are there in the edit lyric field but stripped in the display. Basically we don't want a blank line unless we have specifically entered one (but then we definitely want one!).

Thanks again for your hard work on this. You have a great program!

Mark

arlo

  • Administrator
  • Senior Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4103
  • Karma: +100/-3
Re: Eliminating blank lines with ChordPro
« Reply #8 on: April 06, 2015, 10:47:07 AM »
This should be taken care of in the 4.1.5 update that I submitted a few days ago:

http://www.arlomedia.com/apps/setlistmaker/support/release_notes.html

mspain

  • Newbie
  • **
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Eliminating blank lines with ChordPro
« Reply #9 on: April 09, 2015, 07:57:49 AM »
Just got the update and it looks great. Thanks for getting this fixed so fast!

arlo

  • Administrator
  • Senior Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4103
  • Karma: +100/-3
Re: Eliminating blank lines with ChordPro
« Reply #10 on: April 09, 2015, 09:23:27 AM »
Awesome.

RDankert

  • Newbie
  • **
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Eliminating blank lines with ChordPro
« Reply #11 on: April 10, 2015, 03:45:24 AM »
Also thanks for the work!!!
"Let's drink for the hard working people."

Reinhard