Before posting, please read: When to use this forum, when to submit a help ticket

First live show with BH

Started by iguana, December 22, 2017, 11:47:40 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

iguana

This evening I used BH for the first time in a live setting. Don't know why it took me so long - set up my account months ago - but after just the one show, I'm hooked. Six more Christmas shows to do in the next two days, and then a completely different gig in a week. No more large binders of music to carry around and flip through!

For those interested in setups:
I'm primarily a guitarist, but regularly play other instruments. This Christmas show involves me playing accordion and melodica in addition to the guitar. The gig next week is just guitar, but I also need to run the drum machine.

I'm running BH on a 13 year old Windows laptop that has been converted to running Android. (it was laying around and has a large screen.) Not particularly fast, but runs BH well. Live control is from a Morningstar MC-6 foot controller, with connectivity via a generic USB MIDI dongle. My guitar rig is. Line 6 Helix with a few outboard FX pedals.

For the songs I'm playing something other than the guitar, I just using BH to bring up the chord charts. For the guitar songs, BH also sends MIDI to the Helix to pull up the correct preset. There's nothing particularly complex in the setup, but BH makes it seamless and easy.

For the cover band gig next week, I'm going to have BH fire off drum tracks. I expect that will be just as easy.

Thanks, Arlo, for making BH work so well!

arlo

You're welcome! I like the Android-on-a-PC idea.

iguana

Getting Android running on the old Windows PC was pretty easy. Easier than doing a Linux install, at least, and I've done lots of those.